Project in Progress: Simplicity 1886

Well I figured it was about time for an update on the project to which I’ve been mysteriously hinting at: Simplicity 1886!

I’m making view D/F essentially, but without any of the wonky shoulder ruffles or tabs. Mostly because I was very limited on the amount of fabric and also because I just don’t really like those details. I’m a big fan of the center ruffle (or flounce, as Simplicity calls it).

I bought this great fabric WAY on sale – I’m talking like less than $1.50/yd. And it was the last of it so I’m pretty sure all I had was 1 yd, but I can’t remember for certain. Either way, it was just enough to squeak the pattern out of. Then, as you may have seen in the last post, I burnt half the flounce. SO I had to recut that piece, but out of two separate scraps that are seamed together in the middle. I was pretty disappointed about it at first but you can’t really tell, which is nice.

20120623-005754.jpg

Obviously, there is still work to be done, as the sides are still open. I’ve skipped that shot for you all as it was a bit more risque than I like to get over here at CraftybyNight. I’ve since got the side seams sewn together, but I’m at a kind of standstill. I just totally don’t get one section of the directions…

So if anyone has made this pattern and can explain why there are two facings around the neckline and how to properly attach the front/back facing over the neck facing, I’d be forever grateful. I’m at a total loss. If I can’t figure it out, I’ll probably just skip it all together. I’m not sure why I need it to begin with and I’m pretty sure I can figure out how to finish the thing without that piece.

Sorry for the poor photo quality. I promise some better shots after it’s completed, which will hopefully be this weekend if I can get enough time away from covering the Hancock County 4-H Fair to get some sewing in.

What are you working on right now?!

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Project in Progress: Simplicity 1886

  1. Jenny says:

    I haven’t used this pattern, so I can’t shed any light on the multiple facings. But, have you thought of skipping the facings altogether and using bias tape instead? I’ve done it a couple of times on different patterns. Although, by now you may have already figured it out and finished the top 🙂

  2. I have not figured it out, and thus have not finished the top, so this tip is much appreciated! I have one of the facings already attached, so I was planning to plow ahead and just see how it comes out, but if that does not work I think bias tape would be my next go to now. I’ve used that technique for the Sorbetto and really like the result, although I probably wouldn’t have thought of it for this myself. Thanks Jenny!

  3. […] to death. It’s Simplicity 1886 and though I struggled with part of it, as blogged about here, it turned out great and I really like it. The fabric is a Project Runway sale bin grab at […]

  4. Whitney says:

    Did you every figure this out? I am currently working on this pattern and found your blog by searching for help with this pattern!!! Thanks in advance!!!
    Whitney

    • Hi Whitney,

      You know, I never did! What I ended up doing was just skipping the weird extra facing and finishing it with one facing around the back of the neckline. You could also probably just finish with bias tape. I’ve been meaning to revisit this pattern and figure out where I went wrong, but haven’t done so yet. If you figure it out, let me know. The good news is, even without that extra piece I still where the shirt all the time! Good luck!

  5. whitney says:

    Thanks! I’m a fairly new sewist, so when the directions don’t make sense, I automatically assume operator error! I’m glad to see I wasn’t the only one to be confused!!!

Leave a Reply

