Ch-ch-ch-changes

So Francis and I are finally getting settled in from the move! He loves the new place because there’s SO much more space for him to roll around (he even has his own room!) and I love the new place because there’s so much more space for me to roll around! Ok, I don’t really roll around but coming from a studio to an apartment with doors and actual rooms and closets is pretty sweet.

But the best part: I have a sewing room! I no longer have to hunch over my coffee to work and I don’t even have to move all my furniture to lay out fabric larger than 1 yard. It’s really quite exciting.

That, combined with some new tools…

…got me all sorts of energized to get back to sewing. So sew I did for nights and nights, until I finally had enough completed projects to…

OPEN MY ETSY SHOP!

I’m so very excited about this.

The whole thing was born from the wallet I made my mom for Mother’s Day. She couldn’t stop raving about it and when she started showing it to her clients, neither could they. She suggested I make a few more and put them up for sale in the salon – which will start next week!

But it also got me thinking about Etsy and ways that I can help supplement my modest income…

-I’ll get real with you all for a minute –

I love my job.

I absolutely love it. I am a reporter at a daily community newspaper. It’s crazy; it’s stressful but it’s also wonderful. Every single day is different. Some days go exactly as planned and other days you’re rushing out early from an interview with the Lieutenant Governor of Indiana at a hog farm to a house fire and hugging a grieving mother who’s watching everything her family owns burn in front of her. I meet amazing people, learn something new every day.

Most importantly though, this job is literally a dream coming true. I decided I wanted to be a journalist when I was 12 years old; I even wrote my seventh grade final paper on it. So for the next 10 years I did everything I could to make that happen. I worked incredibly hard in high school to get into an outstanding journalism program. When I entered that program at Butler University, I took advantage of every single opportunity I could. I completed four internships and held three different positions on the school paper, including editor-in-chief my senior year. Then during finals week last May, I interviewed at the Greenfield Daily Reporter and was offered a job as a staff writer.

So here I am, loving every second of it and being so very grateful for all of the opportunities I’ve been afforded to get here. Some days I still can’t believe I get to do exactly what I want for a living.

But my love for journalism and my job has nothing to do with the money. I knew it would pay poorly going into and that was just fine with me. It still is.

But if there is a way to turn another one of my passions – sewing – into a way to a) be self-sustaining (it’s not a cheap hobby, am I right?) and b) afford a little extra income that will allow me to take some of the financial burden of my schooling off of my parents, then I’m going to do everything I can to make that happen too.

-So excuse all my realness if that’s not your thang-

Back to the sewing:

Check out my shop: Crafty@Night on Etsy.

Here’s just a taste:

And get excited for more sewing projects to come – both are clothing! Here’s a sneak peek of two: The first I just finished but cannot fully reveal until after Father’s Day. The second is still in the works!

Pour mon pere:

New fashion project, in the works:

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Ch-ch-ch-changes

  1. Ashlie says:

    Hey,
    Your “OPEN MY ETSY SHOP” link does not appear to be working.

  2. UPDATE: Link to my Etsy shop has been fixed! Go check it out! Even order something πŸ™‚

  3. I LOVE your gadget hanging rack! So clever!!! πŸ™‚ Good luck with your new ventures! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

