Pattern review and Spring Top Sewalong!

Pattern: Simplicity 2512 (Cynthia Rowley) View B

Fabric: Cream and Black Taffeta from the April Johnston/Project Runway fabric line at JoAnn’s

Notions: Black single fold 1/2 inch bias tape. Black 7 -inch invisible zipper

Difficulty: (‘d say it was in the beginner-to-intermediate range. It really wasn’t that difficult, but I did use some techniques (particularly the gathering) that I hadn’t tried before. This was also my first go around with invisible zippers.

Make it again: Possibly, but either another view or with some changes (see below).

Changes: The only real deviation I took from the pattern and instruction was using pre-made bias tape instead of making my own binding as suggested by the package. I found this to be easier and more economical. If I remake this style I will make the back flat instead of all gathered. All the extra volume in the back does not make for the most flattering back and side views for someone my shape. Someone taller and more slender (ie without hips/thighs/butt) might be able to make this work more.

The skirt, once again (see more views on previous post).

At the end of the day though its a pretty cute skirt and I’m happy enough with the end result to say I’ll definitely wear it, probably to work as soon as its not so chilly. Or tomorrow. I want to show it off a little 🙂

Also, I’m very excited to announce that I will be participating in my very first online sewing contest thingy!

Through obsessively reading others sewing blogs – so inspiring, so jealous – I learned about the Spring Top Sewalong hosted by Made by Rae. I’ve been stalking several other themed-sewing contests/challenges and eagerly awaiting one in which I could participate. I’m not so much interested in the contest portion as I just am in joining in on the sewing/blogging community. This will give me the perfect opportunity to try some of the Sorbetto modifications I’ve been thinking about with my stack of beautiful spring fabrics I picked up last weekend. I also like that these things have deadlines – as a journalist I’ve really come to love the darn things. They keep me on track and I’m happy to say I haven’t missed one (by much) yet!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

