Love the smell of fresh baked anything…

So this post was supposed to go yesterday, but I fell asleep typing. As much as I enjoy blogging, I think it’s bad for my health, or at least my sleep pattern.

Anywho, my apartment was filled with the DE-lightful smell of fresh baked banana bread last night! I had some bananas that were about to go bad – go figure – so of course there’s nothing else to do with them. The recipe I used is adapted from one of my all time favorite possessions. It’s a cookbook called “Nutbread and Nostalgia” and it was put together by the South Bend (Ind.) junior league in the 1970s. My mom and grandma both have a copy and so many of the recipes I remember them making while I was growing up were from this book. My mom found it for a reasonable price on Amazon and it was probably the best Christmas present I got, except maybe my sewing machine 🙂

It’s super old school and the recipes are awesome, like this banana bread.

20120315-005650.jpg

Adapted from “Nutbread and Nostalgia”: Banana-pecan bread

1 C softened butter
2 C sugar
4 eggs
4 C flour
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
7 medium bananas, mashed
1 C finely chopped pecans
1 T shredded coconut

In a large mixing bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Combine flour, soda and salt. Gradually add flour mixture alternately with bananas to cream mixture. Mix thoroughly. With a wooden spoon, stir in pecans and coconut until evenly distributed. Crease and flour three 9×5 loaf pans. Bake at 300 or 1 hour. Makes three loaves.

*Note: I halved the recipe and cooked it for 30 minutes in a 9×13 cake pan. Came out perfect! I also left out the coconut and added about a cup of chocolate chips instead. Chocolate chips in banana bread? Oh yeah, trust me. I also left out the pecans, instead sprinkling walnuts (they’re cheaper) just on the top of one half because there is a sizable anti-nut faction in my office.

20120315-005642.jpg

Into the 300 oven it goes…

20120315-005706.jpg

Then 30 minutes later… ta-da!

20120315-005713.jpg

It’s a really moist almost cake-like bread. And it got RAVE reviews at work.

Yesterday was a productive day for me. I also finished Pat’s robe (pause for reaction) and cleaned out my machine. I had never even thought about needing to clean the damn thing until I read this post on one of my favorite new sewing blogs: Did You Make That?

I didn’t even know you could open her up like this, let alone that you should. But as I was in between projects, I thought there could be no better time. I used a cotton swab to clean out all of the lint. I also replaced her needle so she’s looking all shiny and new again.

I did save the old needle though to use during some of my paper projects. That way I won’t have to worry about dulling or damaging a good needle on the machine.

20120315-005728.jpg

20120315-005739.jpg

I will post pictures of Pat’s robe once he has it on because I just look too ridiculous. I’ve also got a post coming on my next project – this super cute. I got this great plaid fabric on sale at JoAnn’s so I’m pretty excited. I will also reveal the chicken and white bean chili recipe I chose! The cook-off is tomorrow, so wish me luck!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a comment