Light at the end of the tunnel!

I am SO close to finishing Pat’s robe/smoking jacket. So close, I swear I can almost taste it.

Actually I would be done if I hadn’t had to take out the hem and redo it. I’m not quite sure how it got to be too long. I may have cut it longer on purpose since Pat is so tall, but honestly its been so long since I cut the pattern pieces that I don’t really remember. But either way the coat portion was too long to fit properly into the band that goes over the front opening to make it look all nice and polished. I finally got that all redone and pinned the last bit of sewing in place. Let’s hope everything is even. I’ve been too afraid to check today.
I did check on the sleeves and pockets last night, though. They are even and it was all well and good until my neighbor came to the door. I’m so unaccustomed to having anyone knock on my door I rushed over, forgetting I was still wearing that god awful black silk monstrosity. Please just picture 5-foot-2-inch me answering the door in an unfinished black silk robe made for my 6-foot-8-inch boyfriend. Needless to say I’m not expecting that neighbor to drop by again anytime soon.

Here are some photos of the robe in progress. As you can see it’s quite large (and rather unwieldy to work with). The second photo shows off the pattern in the fabric better. It’s not really that silver color-that’s just the flash.

20120314-015200.jpg

The pattern:
20120314-015207.jpg

I also wanted to share something I made for dinner tonight: rutabaga fries! I’ve recently fallen in love with the rutabaga and have been looking for different ways to prepare it. Since they are so similar to potatoes (except a little sweeter and way lower in carbs!) I thought the fry application would work well and it did! I sliced them on a mandolin-like tool from Walmart to ensure they were all about the same size and would cook about evenly. Then I just tossed them with a little safflower oil (you can use olive, of course), salt and cayenne pepper. I laid them out in a single layer on a baking sheet and popped them in the oven at 425 until they browned on the edges. Delicious!

20120314-015136.jpg

Speaking of cooking, I did not receive any feedback on my request for a chili recipe (I don’t think I have the followers yet) so I think I’m going to go with a chicken and white bean chili. I don’t know that it will be a huge winner, but it should at least be something different.ill share the recipe soon!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

