The moistest (and most delicious) brownies ever.

I’m not even sure if “moistest” is really a word, but either way it is appropriate here.

While finally spending a weekend home alone recently, I got plenty of time to learn just how awful weekend TV is when all you have is the moist basic cable Brighthouse offers. Truly, awful.

I quickly discovered that the only thing at all worth watching is a few random cooking shows (no Food Network here) and was lucky enough to catch this brownie recipe on an episode of “Food for Thought” with Claire Thomas. After some searching I was able to find her blog The Kitchy Kitchen and the following recipe. I forgot to take photos – hey, I’m still a blogging novice – but Claire’s blog has tons of gorgeous ones that would have put my to shame anyway.

Brown Butter Walnut Brownies

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Ingredients

3 ½ oz dark chocolate (70% cocoa and up)
8 tablespoons of unsalted butter
4 eggs, at room temp
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar, loose, not packed
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup flour
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup coffee, cold
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup walnuts, halved and toasted lightly

Preheat oven to 350 and pop in the walnuts until just toasted, about 5 minutes. Sift together the flour, spices, and cocoa powder. Meanwhile, melt the chocolate in a bowl over boiling water, add the coffee and stir to combine, then let cool. In a small saucepan, melt the unsalted butter until browned, and add to the melted chocolate. Beat together the eggs and sugar until thick and shiny. Continue beating on low while adding flour mixture and wet ingredients alternatively. Finish with the vanilla. Do not over mix. Fold in the chips. Pour into a buttered and floured 9 x 13 pan and sprinkle the walnuts on top. Bake for 25-30 minutes.

Okay, a few deviations I made:

1) I did not include the walnuts. Pat doesn’t like nuts and neither do half of the people I work with. I have to pawn these off on other people, namely my coworkers, or else I’d eat them all myself. I’ve found that eating an entire pan of brownies is really self-defeating when it comes to one of the other thirds of my blogs… the whole working out/being healthy/getting in shape part.

2) The dark chocolate I used was only 60% cocoa because, again, the boyfriend doesn’t like dark chocolate. (Funny now, but not funny at the time, side note: He still hated them.)

3) I used an entire bag of semi-sweet chips instead of just one cup, because honestly can there be too many chocolate chips in anything? I think not.

Thoughts:

1) SO MOIST! Seriously, they are so moist. I made them last night, and they haven’t dried out at all. So fudgy.

2) If you don’t like dark chocolate, you will not like these. Is doesn’t matter how much sugar or anything else you put in them, they still taste like dark chocolate. That’s a great thing in my book but not so much for some others. Again, boyfriend hated them. One coworker commented “Wow, they’re really… cocoa-ey.” She did not go back for seconds.

3) You can really taste the cinnamon, and to a lesser extent the cayenne pepper. I thought it was a nice little twist… one of those “There’s something different about these that I just can’t put my finger on” type things.

4) The chocolate chips sunk. I may try tossing them with flour before I mix them in next time – I’ve heard that helps.

Conclusions:

I will definitely make this recipe again. I will probably use stronger coffee (I used a pretty weak French Vanilla variety this time around). I may try and make them with milk chocolate for Pat. I think they could still be good that way.

I wish I hadn’t made them on such a stressful day… it made it much easier to give in to temptation. As much as I love my job, the pressure can definitely rise out of nowhere. I’m still getting used to coming in expecting to do one thing and having a curve ball tossed my way first thing. Today and yesterday were those kinds of days. For example: yesterday I started my morning at a legislative breakfast (at 7:30 a.m., woof!) and came in to the office only to find out that I would not be writing a story about the issues our local legislators were currently pursuing, but instead about a high school sophomore who died unexpectedly. Today, I thought I’d be writing a story about the state’s apple crop which is in a particularly precarious spot right now but instead I went to Applebee’s and watched the Colts’ news conference releasing Peyton Manning and spent the afternoon mourning with fans.

Everyday is a little bit different and that’s what I love about it.

Now, it is way past my bedtime – I have ReadUp in the a.m., meaning I have to be in Greenfield by 7:30. Easier said than done, blogosphere.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

