LET’S START WITH SOME INTRODUCTIONS…

This is my second attempt at blogging; let’s hope this goes better than the last.

I am a recent graduate of Butler University in Indianapolis. I got lucky; I interviewed for a job during finals week and got it. It’s just 20 minutes away from Indy, a city I know and love. And it’s what I’ve wanted to do since I was 12 years old. There is something unbelievably satisfying about achieving something you have worked an entire 10 years for – nearly half of my life!

As accomplished as I feel, it also left me feeling a little bit lost. I’ve been working toward this for 10 years and I’m finally there, so now what? Obviously I still want to progress, learn and hone my craft. But I was still feeling a little bored. I had too much time on my hands.

I might add that I’ve also gone from living with 80+ girls for the past four years in my sorority to living alone.

So I got a chinchilla. His name is Francis and he pretty awesome.

But I also needed a hobby. Or hobbies.

I tried a few things. First I returned to things I used to do, like playing the violin and painting. Each had its own logistical problems that made them rather impractical.

Over the past few years, during the summers when living out of the sorority and during an internship to Washington, DC, I learned to love cooking.

That’s become one passion. Like anything, I’m still learning. I try new recipes all the time, which I hope to share and trade here!

I also tried cross-stitch. That was okay, but I didn’t quite get hooked. There was something satisfying about needlecraft.

Fast forward six months and my parents got me a sewing machine for Christmas! It’s a Brother LX2500 for you sewing buffs.

That’s become another passion. I got a little carried away at first, staying up way too late to sew. I’ve had to reel myself in a little, setting a midnight bedtime to be sure I get my eight hours 🙂

Lastly, I joined a gym. I was an athlete in high school; I played soccer all four years and swam for one. I kept up with soccer my first two years at Butler, playing club, but haven’t successfully kept up with any regular, long term exercise regimen since. Sure, I’d hit the gym on campus here and there. I even ran a few races, a 5k and a 5 mile, over the past two years. But none of it was regular.

In the last few months I have gotten into a pretty steady routine of going to the gym two to four times a week (five this week!). Over the past few weeks, I’ve become more dedicated. This is primarily because I’ve really seen (and felt) results lately. Never underestimate the motivation you get from actually seeing hard work pay off!

I’ve gotten kind of hooked on group fitness classes. Depending on my schedule, I got to zumba, pilates, yoga and cycling each week. At least twice a week I try and run. I’m up to four miles right now and still working.

So those are the basics – the things I love that I want to share. If all or any of these things interest you, feel free to stick around! And give feedback – I’m a journalist, I can handle. In fact, I appreciate it!

Now, to craft!

A

PS: Just a sneak peek of what’s to come, my current project is a silky “smoking jacket,” as requested by my boyfriend. All I’ll say for now is my materials are embossed black silk and red thread and my target is something “Hugh Hefner-esque.” If that’s not titillating, I don’t know what is.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

